Champion Sponsor


Best of MobileHCI 2012

Best Papers

  • An investigation into the use of tactile instructions in snowboarding. Daniel Spelmezan
  • MemReflex: Adaptive Flashcards for Mobile Microlearning. Darren Edge, Stephen Fitchett, Michael Whitney, James Landay

Best Demo

  • Tilt Displays: Display Surfaces with Multi-Axis Tilt and Actuation. Jason Alexander, Andrés Lucero, Sriram Subramanian

Demo honorable mention

  • PoI Poi: Point-of-Interest Poi for Multimodal Tethered Whirling. Michael Cohen

Social Media

The official hashtag for MobileHCI2012 is #mobilehci2012 and you can follow us on Twitter or Facebook.

General Chairs

Elizabeth F. Churchill, Elizabeth Churchill Consulting, USA
Sriram Subramanian, University of Bristol, UK

Technical Paper Chairs

Patrick Baudisch, Hasso Plattner Institute, Germany
Kenton O’Hara, Microsoft Research, Cambridge & University of Bristol, UK

Sponsorship Chairs

Marco de Sa, Yahoo Research, USA
Ed Cutrell, Microsoft Research, India
Björn Hartmann, University of California, Berkeley, USA


Poster Chairs

Pourang Irani, University of Manitoba, Canada
Jason Alexander, University of Lancaster, UK

Workshop Chairs

Parisa Eslambolchila, Swansea University, UK
Daniel Ashbrook, Nokia Research Center, USA

Web Design and Maintenance Chair

Mark Marshall, University of Bristol, UK
Andrés Lucero, Nokia Research Center, Finland

Interactive Installation Chairs

David A. Shamma, Yahoo Research, USA
Les Nelson, PARC, USA
Alex Olwal, MIT Media Lab, USA

Doctoral Consortium Chair

Ravin Balakrishnan, University of Toronto, Canada

Tutorial Chair

Aaron Quigley, University of St. Andrews, UK
Jeff Pierce, IBM Almaden Research Center, California, USA

Panel Chairs

Frank Bentley, Motorola Solutions, USA
Henriette Cramer, Mobile Life, Sweden

Social Buzz Chairs

Steve Viller, University of Queensland, Australia
Alexandra Wellenmann, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
Mattias Rost, Mobile Life, Sweden

Student Volunteer Chairs

Jessica Cauchard, University of Bristol, UK
Brent Hecht, Northwestern University, USA

Local Arrangement Chairs

Thea Turner, FXPAL, USA
Kris Mihalic, Zynga, USA

E-Publication Chairs

Rodrigo de Oliveira, Telefonica Research, Spain
Mauro Cherubini, Telefonica Research, Spain

Conference Steering Committee

Steering Committee

Program Committee

  • Aaron Quigley, University of St Andrews
  • Abhijt Karnik, Bristol University
  • Alessandro Mulloni, Graz University of Technology
  • Anne Roudaut, Hasso Plattner Institut
  • Antonio Kruger, DFKI and Saarland University
  • Antti Oulasvirta, Max Planck Institute for Informatics
  • Barry Brown, Mobile Life
  • Daniel Ashbrook, Nokia Research
  • David Dearman, Nokia Research
  • David Kirk, University of Newcastle
  • Duncan Brumby , University College London
  • Elizabeth Bales, University of California San Diego
  • Enrico Rukzio, University of Duisburg-Essen / Lancaster University
  • Eve Hoggan, Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT) / University of Helsinki
  • Helena Mentis, Microsoft Research Cambridge
  • Jeff Pierce, IBM Research
  • Jesper Kjeldskov, Aalborg University
  • Joseph 'Jofish' Kaye, Nokia research
  • Keith Cheverst, Lancaster University
  • Ken Hinckley, Microsoft Research
  • Kent Lyons, Intel
  • Lars Holmquist, Yahoo research
  • Les Nelson, PARC
  • Lynne Baillie, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Manfred Tscheligi, University of Salzburg
  • Mark Dunlop, University of Strathclyde
  • Mark Perry, Brunel University
  • Mauro Cherubini, Telefonica
  • Michael Rohs, University of Munich
  • Mike Fraser, University of Bristol
  • Nuria Oliver, Telefonica
  • Paul Marshall, University College London
  • Per Ola Kristensson, University of St Andrews
  • Pourang Irani, University of Manitoba
  • Roderick Murray-Smith, Glasgow University, & Hamilton Institute, NUI Maynooth
  • Russell Beale, University of Birmingham
  • Sebastian Boring, University of Calgary
  • Sian Lindley, Microsoft Research Cambridge
  • Steve Brewster, Glasgow University
  • Yang Li, Google